How to share a Google calendar or Google Calendar - SIMPLYSHAN.COM

How to share a Google calendar or Google Calendar

With Google Calendar’s sharing options, you can share your calendars with specific people or with the public. You can also set sharing permissions so users can only do what you allow. We’ll show you how to do this from your computer, as the mobile app doesn’t allow sharing.

To share a calendar, you must be the creator of that calendar or have the “Make edits and manage sharing” permission for that calendar. Then you can generate a shareable link that people can use to access your calendar and the events on it.

Keep in mind that if you share your calendar with specific people, users will need a Gmail account to view your events. On the other hand, if you share your calendar with the public, the latter does not need to have Google Calendar.

How to only see Google Calendar invitations from people you know?

Share a Google calendar with specific people

To share your calendar with certain people, start by launching a web browser on your computer and opening Google Calendar. Log in to your account on the site if you haven’t already.

After logging in, in the “My calendars” section on the left, find the calendar to share. Hover over that calendar, click the three dots, then choose “Settings and Sharing.”

Select “Settings and Sharing”.

Scroll down the settings page to the “Share with specific people” section. Here, click on the “Add people” button.

Choose “Add people”.

In the “Share with specific people” area, click the “Add email or name” field and enter the email address of the person you want to share your calendar with. Feel free to add as many people as you want.

Next, choose what the added people can do with your calendar by clicking the “Permissions” drop-down menu and choosing an option. You have the choice between the following options:

  • See only free/busy slots (hide details): This option allows people to see only your free/busy times; the names of your events and their details are not shared.
  • See all event details: This option allows users to see your non-private events and subscribe to email alerts for event creations and changes.
  • Make changes to events: Choose this option to allow users to create, edit, view, delete, and restore your private and non-private events. Users can also subscribe to event updates.
  • Make edits and manage sharing: If you choose this option, users can add, edit, delete, and restore private and non-private events. They can also share your calendar with other people and even delete the whole calendar.

After selecting an option, click “Send” to send your calendar invitation.

Your recipients will receive an email with a link to access your calendar. Once they click the “Add this calendar” link, they will be able to access your calendar and the events on it.

Select “Add this calendar”.

Later, if you want to restrict people from accessing your calendar, open the calendar settings page and select “X” next to a person’s name.

And that’s how you allow specific people to view your calendar!

Give everyone access to your Google Calendar

To allow anyone to find and access your calendar, make it publicly available by following these steps.

Start by opening your favorite web browser and launching Google Calendar. On the site, log in to your account if you haven’t already.

After logging in, in the “My calendars” section on the left, locate the calendar to share. Next, hover over that calendar, click the three dots, then choose “Settings and Sharing.”

Scroll down the settings page to the “Event Access Permissions” section. Here, enable the “Make available to public” option.

Enable “Make available to public”.

At the “Warning” prompt, select “OK”.

Now choose the permission level for your calendar. To do this, click the drop-down menu next to “Make available to public” and choose an option:
Show only free/busy (hide details): To allow the public to see only your opening hours and occupancy and not the names of your events or their details, choose this permission.
See all event details: This option allows the public to see all your events and their details in your calendar.

Google Calendar automatically saves your changes, so you don’t have to do anything.

Choose a permission level for the public calendar.

To now get a link for your calendar that allows anyone to see your events, scroll down the same page to the “Integrate Calendar” section. Here, you’ll see your calendar’s shareable link in the “Public URL to this calendar” field.

You can share this link with people who need it to give them access to your calendar.

Copy the link to the public calendar.

And that’s how you let specific people or the world know what your schedule is like. Very convenient !

Want to invite people only to specific events in Google Calendar? If so, there is a way to do it.

Leave a Comment